Cello Sonata

Episode two of remote chamber music: cellist Melanie Ambler joins me in the sonata in G major which I wrote back in 2012. This is effectively my Opus One, as it's my earliest serious composition that I'm still willing to perform or record. Melanie is only the third cellist to play the piece all the way through, after Daniel Harp (the dedicatee of the piece) and Lauren Latessa:

I. Allegro moderato (0:00)
II. Maestoso - Allegro scherzando (5:34)
III. Andante - Adagio molto (8:57)
IV. Allegro vivace (13:05)

Posted September 07 2020 by Benjamin Nacar